No right to cry

On a day such as today, ten years after incredible devastation, it’s hard to compare my own hardships to the sufferings of so many others. 9/11 was not just an attack in New York or at the Pentagon. It was an attack on all Americans. The suffering, however, falls upon a certain group, which I am not a part of. Therefore, in this time of mourning and reflection, all I can do is offer my prayers. I don’t believe I have the right to any tears or to be stirred by the day’s ceremonies. I also don’t believe I have the right to recall where I was or how I reacted to the news. Those are sacred privileges of the ones whose lives were wrecked by the terrorist attacks, and I will not trample on that prerogative out of respect for my fellow Americans.

Therefore today, all I can do is stand in humble silence and remembrance for the victims and heroes on that day ten years ago. God bless you all.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Add a comment! Talk back to me! I want attention!

